Prog Blaug

In 2001, I was burned out on the shred scene, put the company on hold and headed for Eastern Europe.  Mike Parillo’s extra room in Prague to be exact. Mike introduced me to people I would visit for the next 8 years. I hadn’t been there for 2 years and needed to go back. As luck would have it, the planets aligned and I found myself once again in possibly the most beautiful city on this concrete ball. There is a history in Prague. Not just a history in the history book kinda history. But also a history of some american snowboard legends and artists. Mike Parillo, Matt Dohahue, Dan Peterka, Carl Smith, Chris Brunkhart and many others found themselves in the magic spell in which Prague will conjure. It’s not hard to see the obvious outer beauty in which Prague will show any eye. There is an inner essence you are only allowed to see if you keep go back for more. I guess you could say that about any place. But there is a certain bond with people who have witnessed the magic. Blah, Blah, Blah. Just check out the photos.

  • czechsky

Flying in always conjurers a stoke.

marek

This is Marek.  One of the people Mike introduced me to.  You might remember him from a semi-recent Parillo Painting.

Incase you don’t know shit, Czech has the best beer on the planet.  Don’t even argue.  Because you obviously have no fucking clue what you are talking about.

lokal

This is a new joint that could possibly be in the top 3.  The Czechs are fucking masters at brewing and that shitty beer you drink down at your local micro brewery is dog shit once you’ve taken your first sip of Czech nectar.  Or Czectar. They just call it pivo.

beertank

williebeer

“You got clothes like a dick head.”  My first sip of the trip.

praguecastle

castlethrutrees

praguecastle2

mikeandmarek

™™

bass

A musical instrument made by local Czech artist Michal Cimala.

I was stoked when my lady finally made it down from Sweden.  She’s been visiting/living in Prague since she was a baby and knows this place inside and out.  She led the way all over the city and we snapped mad pics.

peterka

bwspaceneedle

charlesbridge

commibuilding

dishes

politicalart

praguefromletna

praguefromletna2

praguefromletna3

praguegrass

shoes

stadium

twintowers

twintowerback

squarenite

peterkaboard

Movement Dan Peterka board.  Czech flag

painting

My visit to Prague felt short lived.  It was really hard to leave this time.  Every time I go there, it’s a new and different experience than the time before.   But I knew it was going to be short and I tried to best to hold on to every second.

businessclass

I guess the ride home wasn’t too bad either.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

